Open vision bar

SBDM Council

Glasscock Elementary is a Site Based Decision Making School (SBDM). It is a process whereby a council consists of the principal, four teachers, and three parents. The SBDM is to address the academic, social, and emotional needs of our students in order to set a school policy that will enhance student achievement and help each student meet the goals established by the council consistent with state law.

School Committees work under the direction of the SBDM Council. The School Committees will consent for shared decision-making to the following: Planning, Budgeting, Curriculum, Staff Development, School Calendars and School Organization. Decisions will be made using sufficient consensus. The principal will retain veto power. All decisions are aimed at tailoring our school to best meet the needs of the community which we serve. For more information concerning the by-laws and minutes of the SBDM or the school policies please go to our website at

SBDM meetings are open to the public, so if you have a concern about what’s going on at the school, or if you’d like to share an idea or just learn more, please come! Meetings for 2019-20 will be held at 4:00 pm on the second Wednesday of each month.  If you would like an item placed on the council agenda, please submit the item in writing/email to Mrs. Angie Akers, School Principal, no later than the Monday prior to the meeting.

2019-20 School Council Members:
Angie Akers, Principal & Chairperson
Patti Davis, Teacher
Patrick Gribbins, Teacher
Jessica Veatch, Teacher
Tiffany Brock, Parent
Angela Garrett, Parent

2019-20 Regular Meeting Dates and Times:

August 14, 2019                 4:00 p.m.
September 11, 2019         4:00 p.m.
October 9, 2019                 4:00 p.m.
November 13, 2019          4:00 p.m.
December 11, 2019          4:00 p.m.
January 8, 2020                 4:00 p.m.
February 12, 2020            4:00 p.m.
March 11, 2020                 4:00 p.m.
April 8, 2020                       4:00 p.m.
May 13, 2020                     4:00 p.m.
June 10, 2020                     4:00 p.m.