Teachers of the Year

Marion County Knight Academy teacher Kara Clark and Glasscock Elementary teacher Sarah Brussell were awarded the first-ever MCPS Student Ambassador Teacher of the Year awards recently.

Clark, an 8th grade social studies teacher, received the Secondary Teacher of the Year Award and Brussell, a 2nd grade teacher, received the Elementary Teacher of the Year Award. 

The MCPS Student Ambassadors organized the award program and invited principals, assistant principals, and instructional coaches from across the district to submit nominations. The Student Ambassadors then narrowed the field down to three finalists for each division and those finalists were then sent to a group outside the school district who selected the overall winners based on the nominations.

The winners received a trophy crafted by students and staff at the Marion County Area Technology Center, which included their names and the year. The trophy will change hands each year as a new Teacher of the Year is named. The winners also received a prize box that included, among other items, an engraved fountain pen.

Student Ambassadors Laurel Cochran, Noah VanDyke, Julia Rose Wheatley, Rose Caldwell, and Caitlynn Brady, all of whom are members of the 2023-2024 Student Ambassador Executive Council, surprised Clark and Brussell with the awards at their schools.

You can view the surprise presentations in the video below.