Teacher of the Year Awards

Finalists for the first-ever MCPS Student Ambassadors Elementary Teacher of the Year award and Secondary Teacher of the Year award have been announced. 

The finalists for the Elementary division are: Sarah Brussell (Glassock Elementary), Lori Scott (West Marion Elementary), and Abby Smith (Lebanon Elementary). The finalists for the Secondary division are: Stephanie Carrico (Marion County Knight Academy), Kara Clark (Marion County Knight Academy), and Bobby VanDyke (Marion County Middle School).

Members of the MCPS Student Ambassadors selected the finalists after receiving nominations from principals, assistant principals, and instructional coaches. A group outside of the school district with strong ties to public education will select the overall winner from among the three finalists.

The overall winners will be announced next week.